Life is Busting out ALL Over!

A word about this year.

Posted on: December 31, 2009

One year ago today, on December 31st, 2008, I moved into this here apartment I’m typing from right now. I had actually driven into Austin two days earlier but thanks to the wonders of logistics and company office moves 10x more important… my stuff didn’t show up until the early morning of New Year’s Eve. (I wasn’t mad, I was just a simple girl with a storage unit thankful to be moving up and out of her parents house. I had a job and a new beginning. Waiting 48 hours in an empty apartment was worth it)

A year ago today, I spent New Year’s Eve alone. I was officially alone in my new city, in a new apartment and I had finally gotten all my stuff. That day and night, I unpacked the things I own into a new place (in record time, thank you very much), opened up a bottle of bubbly, and turned on Anderson Cooper. At midnight, 2009 started and I turned a year older as it was my birthday. My privilege of having this birthday is that I am able to celebrate the very second it starts… with friends. I highly recommend it. Last year I did not spend it surrounded by friends.

In fact, when the ball dropped, I was outside on my porch toasting the moon and the stars, giving thanks for the opportunity to stand where I was standing and everything that led me to that moment.

2009 was an incredible year for me. I am the only person I know that feels this way, but I am very sorry to see it go.

Tonight, one year later, things are going to be a little bit different. But I plan on ushering 2010 in the same fashion, thankful for everything that brings me to that moment at midnight… and for the kiss that will follow. 🙂

Many wishes for a happy, healthy and good for the soul 2010!

Leave a Reply

Synopsis

musings and panic attacks of a Chicago girl embarking on a new life in Texas. Only it's not always June and it's not in song.

Tweets, Twit, Twha?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

lifeisbustingblog@yahoo.com

Pages

