Life is Busting out ALL Over!

I’m totally suckered into

Posted on: January 9, 2009

THE BACHELOR.

I know. I can’t believe it either. It’s not totally out of the blue for me, however. Back in my pre-life, my roomies and I were HUGE Bachelor fans, probably because it bonded us together (I was the odd man out of the apartment as my two roommates were good friends from college, one of them went to high school with MY friend and they were all supposed to live together until my friend got knocked up before she could move in and was planning a wedding. I needed a place to live, taking over my friend’s lease would help her out… 3 weeks later I moved in. It was crazy but worked out and the bonding definitely helped. Thank God).

Anyway, my roomies and I would take bets on the girls, we had favorites, booed the Bachelor when he was stupid, I got made fun of during the kissing scenes because I get really embarrassed for other people and bury my face in my hands – even strangers who are willing to make fools of themselves, it’s too much for me, but the best was the Finale episode when we’d each get our own bottle of champagne and watch it together. All of us single and all of us clinging on to the shred of hope that love would enter our lives even if it was based on the image from an eventual doomed reality TV relationship. After the first couple seasons, which seemed fun, I lost interest, met the ex-boyfriend and traded in the show for watching 24 with him, which was worth it – mmmmm… Jack Bauer, and said sayonara to The Bachelor. I think I even had some choice words about gender roles and some serious self-righteousness when it came to my attitude towards the show.

I don’t know why I’m so into this year’s Bachelor. It is most definitely that I’m so stoked to have DVR again, that I’m trying to fill it out with shows I don’t have time to watch until the weekend. It might be the fact that he’s ridiculously good looking and that he’s got a kid and seems really sweet with him, or maybe it’s the fact that I’m single for the first time in years.   Could it be that maybe, just maybe that I’m really starting to heal and have hope again? And maybe, just maybe I’ve starting thinking about dating again?? I think so.

Even if it involves reality TV, semi-stalker ladies and vision boards… who cares?! The girl (and The Bachelor) are back!

Leave a Reply

Synopsis

musings and panic attacks of a Chicago girl embarking on a new life in Texas. Only it's not always June and it's not in song.

Tweets, Twit, Twha?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

lifeisbustingblog@yahoo.com

Pages

