Life is Busting out ALL Over!

Just like the one Belle has

Posted on: July 14, 2008

So I have a teeny, nay, HUGE obsession with libraries. As in I want to live in one. I have yet to meet a library I didn’t like – okay, I take that back, the little Chicago public library on Melrose in Roscoe Village was tres disappointing… but I refuse to think it was awful, just not fortunate to have a large selection (of anything). The original library in my hometown probably started the love, it was an old YWCA converted in the early 20th century into the library . It was kind of dark, a little dingy, and cramped with so many books that it was difficult to stand in the aisles at some parts (which it is why it has long since moved to a more modern facility specifically built but not nearly as charming). My love was definitely cemented at my grandparents’ house when I discovered that there was more to my grandfathers’ den than a little TV and really uncomfortable couches – there were shelves of books!! And it only seemed to add to the history of the house, and I found myself spending time with my grandfather watching his beloved Opera, not for the love of it but because I loved being surrounded in a small room with all those books.

Why I am not a librarian – as my parents predicted I would be when I was two years old – I have absolutely no idea, but I figure I’ve got plenty of life to live for that. It also should be noted that on the same car ride as my prediction, they also predicted my little sister would be a professional wrestler because at the time I was content with my books in the car, she was thrashing them out of my hands. They clearly did not know their children well, as my sister is the most feminine thing ever and even works in fashion. Anyway.

My love pretty much exploded in middle school when I saw the Disney animated classic, Beauty and the Beast. It was there that I saw this:

I’m sure that there were millions of young girls who saw this movie and thought, Gee, Belle is so lucky because her beast turned out to be a handsome Michael Bolton looking prince! Whereas I thought, HOLY COW BELLE GETS TO LIVE WITH A LIBRARY!!

That was the day I decided that someday, someDAY, my prince will come in the form of a library of my very own in my house. I haven’t gotten rid of a book since. I have boxes at my parents house, of books that outgrew my bookshelves and are just waiting for that future home. I even chose to live in Rogers Park for crying out loud, mostly because of the low rent but MOSTLY because it had a built-in fireplace and 10 feet of bookshelves in the wall. It was glorious. Living there sucked, but the bookshelves were glorious.

So, last week I’m working in the Honors College here and I step into their library, as you do, to wrap up my student advising and notice that all the books on the shelves were for sale for 50 cents. I came home with a book of New Yorker short stories and three volumes of the Anthology of British Literature.

I might get around to reading them – although Beowulf has turned me off to anything remotely associated with British Literature – but I know they’ll have a good home… eventually.

It must be noted that I am not a freak for wanting a library, “the love is real and it is strong“, because everyone I tell this to, either has the same dream or totally gets it. However I do realize that basing the model of my dream off of a Disney movie could be misconstrued. I am so OK with that!

Leave a Reply

Synopsis

musings and panic attacks of a Chicago girl embarking on a new life in Texas. Only it's not always June and it's not in song.

Tweets, Twit, Twha?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

lifeisbustingblog@yahoo.com

Pages

