Life is Busting out ALL Over!

My life in updates in list format

Posted on: April 19, 2008

1. EARTHQUAKE + AFTERSHOCKS + INDIANA (Fine, Midwest) = WTF????

First of all, can I just state how flipping exhausted I’ve been this week? My two major projects of the semester due last Tuesday, then one flight and long job interview over two days in GA, next day 5 hour drive to Chicago for another one and back (You ain’t ever experienced boredom until you’ve driven through Indiana. I’m seriously thinking of trademarking this phrase), crashing before 10pm that night, and then getting flipping woken up by an earthquake at 5:38am the next morning. And of course due to my love of Breaking News/Special Reports, I was up for the rest of the day. Seriously, I needed sleep!! It was kind of like the time my freshman year in college when my new member class slept for a week at the sorority house and the fricking fire alarm went off at 4am after we had been out all night – all of us sleeping on the living room floor, walking out of the house wrapped up in our blankets, thought they were hazing us until the fire trucks showed up, because it was a risk management DRILL. Yeah, it felt like that. Jerks.

Anyway, I’ve always maintained to others (because *I* have conversations like this) that when you compare this country with natural disasters – West (Earthquakes), Midwest (Tornadoes) and East (Hurricanes) – that I would take Tornadoes any day of the week, even though they are nasty next door to my hometown destroyer fuckers – at least we have a warning system. Even if the sirens fail, we still have clues: 1. Green sky 2. Wall Cloud 3. Hail 4. Duck for your life. Earthquakes, out of nowhere, and hurricanes are so fickle you end up doubting it or proving you can outlast them. See, rock, paper, scissors, we win.

But now*, the experts are saying this is Mother Nature’s warning call?? Tornadoes AND earthquakes. Awww… HELL NO!!

2. ARTSY COLLEGE TOWN + LIFEISBUSTING = TRUE LOVE FOREVER??

Not in the major path of any of these natural disasters has now been included in my pro/con list entitled, “Where the hell am I going to live?”. I had THE MOST amazing interview at the University of Georgia. Holy hell, I love that town – it is an arts town, a CREATIVE town and creative/spiritual/imaginative peeps are my favorite kinds, we love each other. Athens, call me!! It is in the field I am most interested and where I think my heart belongs. I felt like I rocked the 8 HOUR interview process including a 30 minute presentation. THAT I WROTE THE NIGHT BEFORE. Yikes.

But for real, the staff was amazing. I don’t think I’ve ever been somewhere interviewing where the future employer tries to woo you as much I try to woo them on me. And the job. Oh my god the job. Pays like crap but holy heck, I’d even get to teach a class. I want to marry it. Two positions, four candidates (met them all, very nice and I’m the only non blonde – TEAM BRUNETTE!) and stated the toughest decision they have to make. I feel like I could crack the top 2 but I can see it going either way.

However, my gut is telling me it’s where I’ll go. My gut is much smarter than I am. So I hope it’s right. Plus, I could feasibly go out to a bar, have a beer while reading a book and meet Michael Stipe. I MEAN, HELLO. Automatic for the People made this little 14 year old lonely kid fall in love with music and like someone finally got it. Which, I sort of blurted out like three different times in various interviews on Wednesday, because I’m cool and like to BLURT random stuff out all the time like people care. Uh….. Hey, Athens, I promise I’ll watch all the blurting. For real. I’ll just go hiking in the mountains and blurt stuff there.

3. JUST BECAUSE YOUR SCHOOL LOOKS LIKE HOGWARTS DOESN’T MEAN IT’S AS AWESOME ON THE INSIDE

University of Chicago = meh. Granted it’s not a position I’d fall on my sword for but I was interested, until I met the staff devoid of all personality. Not sure that’s for me.

4. YOU CAN’T GO HOME AGAIN??

I’m actually moving along with Northwestern for a position that interests me outside of Career Services. And I’m pissed because I have been having an internal struggle on whether or not I want to go back to Chicago. I know I’m going to have this big of a decision, it’s how my life works. Just when I had decided I was ready to move on and that *my* Chicago wouldn’t be the same Chicago (and really hasn’t been for a couple of years) to which I would return, flipping NU calls. The ONE town, the ONE place that could change everything, did. F.

More on the spewing of internal struggles to come, I’m sure.

5. SLEEP IS FOR WIMPS

I’m averaging about 3 hours a night now, due to workload but also stress. Also, I’m breaking out. So that’s awesome. I also proved to myself that I can give a one hour presentation on no sleep and not eating for about 20 hours prior. Sure, I spew random stuff and blurt out some horrible sounds, but I got through it.

6. 70 DEGREE WEATHER RULES

Enough said.

* Growing up in the burbs in IL, I’ve known about the New Madrid fault line. In 7th grade, some doomsdayer/geologist predicted there would be a CATASTROPHIC earthquake, similar to the one in the 19th century that shifted the course of the Mississippi river, along this fault line. He had predicted the exact day and time. The news went apeshit over it (SHOCKER!). All I remember was it was in December of 1990. And it was supposed to hit after school. That day, I had musical practice, and because I was always made “Girl #3 from the right” and not having to really do much except stand there, I was watching and watching and watching the clock for the earthquake to hit. It never did. You can only imagine the disappointment of a nerd/girl-who-would-go-on-to-be-named-7th-grade-Geography-Whiz-Kid. Let’s just keep this story close to our hearts and not tell any future love(s) of my lives, mm’kay?

Leave a Reply

Synopsis

musings and panic attacks of a Chicago girl embarking on a new life in Texas. Only it's not always June and it's not in song.

Tweets, Twit, Twha?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

lifeisbustingblog@yahoo.com

Pages

