Life is Busting out ALL Over!

True Story.

Posted on: April 8, 2008

For whatever reason in life, people feel compelled to tell me their life story. Or ask for directions but that is another post. And when I say people, I really mean complete total strangers with whom I have absolutely no relationship. It is almost as if I have “Go ahead, tell me. You’ll feel better” tattooed on my forehead.

This morning on my way to work, I stopped at Walgreen’s for extremely unimportant things (which is usually the case at Walgreen’s). My conversation with the cashier, an older woman, went like this:

Walgreen’s lady: Your total is $6.65

Me: I’m getting $5 back but can I get a dollar in quarters?

WL: (nods) and hands me a Fiver AND four quarters

Me: uhhhhh. Wait.

WL: I’m sorry! You wanted $5 total back. One second. (gets me the right amount of change)

WL: It’s been a rough morning.

Me: No worries. I understand. It’s early and it’s yucky (??) outside. That doesn’t make it any better.

WL: Well, and I got no sleep. I was at the hospital all night.

Me: (stares blankly) Oh no.

WL: With my sister. She got her leg amputated.

Me: Oh my gosh. I’m sorry.

WL: And she’s not doing very well.

Me: Well, I’ll keep her in my thoughts. (??)

WL: That Diabetes… it’s horrible

Me: (starts to put away my things and heads out the door) I hope you have a better day

WL: (mumbles something I couldn’t hear)

Now, that I think about it, maybe I do bring this on myself. But really what are you supposed to be do?? Treat others as you want to be treated? I try to do that and I still wouldn’t spill my guts out. Because then it just makes you feel worse when the stranger is probably thinking “Well, I felt crappy because of my cramps but at  least I’m not that guy.”

Anyway. So it goes.

Leave a Reply

Synopsis

musings and panic attacks of a Chicago girl embarking on a new life in Texas. Only it's not always June and it's not in song.

Tweets, Twit, Twha?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

lifeisbustingblog@yahoo.com

Pages

