Life is Busting out ALL Over!

It’s a hard life, but it’s their life.

Posted on: March 18, 2008

By now I’m sure you’ve all seen the show in TLC, “Jon and Kate plus 8”, the reality show about a family with 2 six year olds and 6 2 year olds. And if you are anything like me you might be obsessed with it. I seriously didn’t make an effort to watch this show or anything and then one day caught a marathon of it. I was totally hooked. I was just talking about the show with some of my classmates – all around 22 – 24 years old and they love it too. But they love it because it’s “cute” and they seem to have an “awww… I want that” kind of outlook on the show.

It’s interesting to observe it, I can relate my friends’ thoughts as well. But my reasons for liking it are more along the lines because I enjoy Jon and Kate’s relationship – that it seems really authentic. She nags and gets her way, he obliges and does what he can to help. They aren’t lovey dovey every single second and they are more challenged by having kids than constantly being amazed. At the same time, though, they do have those amazing moments, the moments in the little things the kids do or activities they do as a family. I really enjoy watching people who get it that it’s all about the “little things”.

And yeah, I love watching the little kids too, especially the one with the glasses. It kills me every time. I recently found out some news genetically within my own family which might ultimately lead me to choose not to have my own children. Ironic, that I struggled with this during my twenties and swore off kids, thinking I didn’t need them, that it wasn’t something I was going to conform to. Then I was able to grow more into my own person and realized that indeed children were something I wanted for myself someday, and I realized I was with a man who did not share this opinion, part of what consoled me with the break up was realizing I could find someone who shares the same dreams I do. And now, this piece of recent genetic news has thrown me for a loop and made me realize, perhaps I had it right the first time. I don’t mean to be so vague. It’s still bumming me out.

So in the meantime, while I try not to make decisions until all the facts are in and realize that 30 is not too old and I have plenty of birthing time left, I watch the show. Because it makes me happy and it reminds me to take stock of the little things.

And yes, I take life lessons from reality shows. And yes, for some reason this post is stuck on the center alignment and I can’t figure out how to change the format.

But I will be thankful, thankful my computer works so I can type this post, thankful I thought I lost my phone yesterday and found it in my car, and thankful my life has been calm for the most part, but most of all I will remain thankful that I do not have to deal with 6 2 year olds vomitting and having diarrhea at the same time. For 5 days. It’s amazing what I will watch on TV. Seriously.

1 Response to "It’s a hard life, but it’s their life."

i am also hooked on “jon and kate plus 8” … i guess in a voyeuristic way, wondering how they haven’t lost their minds yet! i also like their banter during the couch sessions, when they are talking about what happened during the episode … they seem to have a very strong relationship.

i just love tlc in general … i could live off of marathons of “what not to wear” and “property ladder”. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Synopsis

musings and panic attacks of a Chicago girl embarking on a new life in Texas. Only it's not always June and it's not in song.

Tweets, Twit, Twha?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

lifeisbustingblog@yahoo.com

Pages

