Life is Busting out ALL Over!

2007: In Review

Posted on: January 29, 2008

Did this last year and I like the idea of reflecting about what’s been and get the juices flowing on what might be… started this before 2008 but seeing as though it’s not February yet, I think it still counts.

2007: The Year.

Theme of this year: Begin The Begin. So much of this year was about starting over – I applied and got into grad schools. I chose the best program for me. I ended my horrible, uninspired career/job in marketing, I moved out of state for school, started my program and ended the semester with great success and my first serious relationship ended as did my twenties. I am truly at the beginning of a new journey.

Best Month of the Year: My gosh, I have no idea, probably September, still excited about grad school and enjoying each new moment.

Best Day of the Year: August 10 – moving day and the 5 hour drive to my new home in Indiana – such promise and excitement

Worst Day/Time of the Year: November 18 – the break up in the midst of writing the hardest paper I had to write all semester. How supportive of him. Did I mention it was over IM? Klassy.

Favorite Person of the Year: My oldest friends from elementary school and high school. It amazes me still, I drifted a little during and after college, thinking they didn’t understand me. They were the first to get married and have babies – still thinking they didn’t understand me. And this year, with this move, this change and this break up have been there for me like never before. I am truly lucky.

Favorite Moment of the Year: Watching my close friend get married in Key West. This one, the one who bawled her eyes out on the phone when she broke up with her boyfriend as soon as she moved to a new city to be with him, stuck it out and went through a couple more relationships and finally found the one that matches her. Their wedding was so full of love, it made me realize that I have to go through this break up to find the love I deserve.

Favorite CD of the Year: The Crane Wife – The Decemberists – not new this year but close enough.

I also really enjoyed Spring Awakening, the broadway musical and a lot of other new artists to me: Ingrid Michaelson, The Avett Brothers too. But my favorite has got to be Explosions in the Sky, I’m about 3 years behind but oh.my.god.

Favorite Song of the Year: Oh I have so many and none of them came out this year but I listened to these a lot:

Closer to Me – Dar Williams

Starting Now – Ingrid Michaelson

Your Hand in Mine – Explosions in the Sky

 

Favorite Movie: Juno – Oh, what a little movie with such life!! And not just because the screenwriter grew up in my hometown and graduated from a rival high school the same year I did – she is amazing though. But it’s such a great movie with such a beautiful soul.

Live Show of the Year: When I get back to the land of the living – i.e. have an income again, one of the things I’m going to do is to see more live music.

Best Thing I Bought: my grad school education


Favorite Trip:
Key West.

Book of the Year: “Can’t Find My Way Home: America in the Great Stoned Age” and “Under the Banner of Heaven” by Jon Krakauer.

Too bad the ex still has them, for now I told him to keep everything of mine – mostly books – because I was being smug. Now that I remember he has them I want them back.

2008, I think is going to be amazing for me personally. I feel like I’ve grown so much and I don’t feel like I belong in my twenties any more, although how ironic when you feel like you’ve figured them all out, you leave.

I’m done looking back, only ahead. And I hope the road is long, the skies are blue and I’ve got good tunes in my car.

Leave a Reply

Synopsis

musings and panic attacks of a Chicago girl embarking on a new life in Texas. Only it's not always June and it's not in song.

Tweets, Twit, Twha?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

lifeisbustingblog@yahoo.com

Pages

