Life is Busting out ALL Over!

2006 in review

Posted on: December 30, 2006

Saw this in another blog, and thought it’s be a great way to reflect on what was 2006.

2006: The Year.

Theme of this year: Hmm… so much happened that didn’t happen. I guess Back to the Drawing Board would be the best. Because as more changes the more I kept going back to my original idea at 23 of getting my Masters in Higher Ed. I’ve committed myself to send in my apps next month – even though I don’t feel like I’m ready – I don’t think I’ll ever be ready and I’m not going to wait.

 

Best Month of the Year: December – perhaps due to short term memory loss – no, I just enjoyed the hell out of December – felt an incredible growth with Boyfriend as our relationship has just evolved, got to see a lot of friends, heard from old friends, spent time with family. Solidified my values within my life – talk became action. Was productive and appreciated at work. Just a good damn month.

Best Day of the Year: December 16 (I think, pretty sure) Boyfriend and I just spent the entire day on the couch drinking wine, watching How I Met Your Mother season 1, ordered food in, and just cuddled. The perfect winter day.

Worst Day/Time of the Year: Jan/Feb – stuck in the hellhole of my old job with no way out – I didn’t start interviewing until March – and I just felt like everyday I was losing my soul.

Favorite Person of the Year: Wow, Boyfriend definitely takes the cake on this one but I won’t name him – even though he stuck by me through some shitty moments and truly has become one of my best friends as all my others have gotten married and seem to disappear. But I’m going to have to say my favorite people of the year are the “Applewood” crew – the girls I have known since elementary school. I grew up and changed a lot in college and really felt distance from them – but this year through weddings, birth of children, and horrible breakups among the group, I’ve really discovered what a gift of friendship I have with them. I feel closer to them than any other friendship in many respects. I’m glad to have rediscovered that.

Favorite Moment of the Year: This one is also the saddest one – it just displayed depth of soul and I’m going to leave it at that. I also want to include about the 10 different times I fell in love again throughout the year.

Favorite CD of the Year:

Going to have to go with ‘Love, Loss, Hope, Repeat’ from Carbon Leaf – just an all around great band with superior song writing – a little bias in that I get to meet the band any time they come to town but still.

Also have to say Dixie Chicks’ new one blew my mind in several directions. love women with guts.

Favorite Song of the Year: This is hard because I have a lot and also I’m introduced to a lot of new music from boyfriend that has been out awhile.

Not ready to Make Nice – Dixie Chicks The build up in the middle with the strings just kills me over and over

World Spins Madly On – The Weepies – such a pleasant surprise this band.

Peace Train – Cat Stevens – a favorite one this year for me and boyfriend complete with hand claps. God, we need a road trip.

Sexy Back – Justin Timberlake – if nothing else the man makes three piece suits hot again.

Favorite Movie: The one I discovered: Millions – it’s technically 2005. Roger Ebert named it the best movie of 2005. It is the heart and soul of the human race and I can’t get over how meaningful simple actions from children can be. Shit. I love it.

Live Show of the Year: I did not go to a single show this year – gah, I suck! I’ll go with Ben Folds from Oct 2005 – it was special for the feelings boyfriend and I shared with each other that night and reduced me to a blubbering mess.

Best Thing I Bought: My beautiful Mac ibook I bought – I had been dreaming about it for so long and it’s even better in person.

Favorite Trip:
Minneapolis reunion with CCs was the highlight – can’t go wrong with good friends and 7 bottles of wine.

Book of the Year: “Laurel Canyon” – holy hell I nutsacked this book. For boyfriend’s birthday I got a book of Lester Bangs and the sales guy recommended this one. Problem was, by the time I got home and went to sleep that night I was a 1/4 of the way done with the book. I had to wrap it and give it to him for his birthday the next day – I tried to take it back once he opened it. I had to wait until he read it but fortunately I broke him down before he could get it to it. I finished it in a span of 10 hours including working and living life.

This book is the way music history should be written – it details the neighborhood of Laurel Canyon in LA during the late 60s to present. The neighborhood was the catalyst for the folk movement becoming main stream. Sex, drugs and rock and roll, man.

 

Wow, 2007 – New Year’s is so odd for me – I mean my birthday is January 1 for christ’s sake so when you want to talk about reflective it’s like a double whammy for me.

29 on Monday. Christ, where did the time go?? I am terrified about turning 29 – 30 I can’t wait to – I’m so excited for all this growth to settle and make me feel like me… but 29 – I feel like I should have a checklist at 29 and none of my goals are checked off. Of course the goals I would have written for myself years ago are not the goals I want now so perhaps that’s a better way of looking at it. I am staring at starting all over again, being financially strapped but seeing through a path I feel like I’m called to. I guess I can’t complain about that.

I see a lot of hope in 2007 – the country is changing. Lester Bangs famous quote “I’ll see you on the long road to the middle” I think is ringing true. I have goals for myself next year but I’m afraid to set them. I don’t want to be held to a standard that I set so high for myself it’s impossible to get to.

Health, happiness and peace of mind is my wish for all of us. Have a wonderful and safe new year.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Synopsis

musings and panic attacks of a Chicago girl embarking on a new life in Texas. Only it's not always June and it's not in song.

Tweets, Twit, Twha?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

lifeisbustingblog@yahoo.com

Pages

